Sie befinden sich hier:

Homepage  > Activities  > Research grants  > Scientific network  

Skew Product Dynamics and Multifractal Analysis

The scientific network "Skew Product Dynamics and Multifractal Analysis" is funded by the Scientific Network Program of the German Research Council (DFG-grant Oe 538/3-1).
The partner institutions are the universities of Bremen, ErlangenRio de Janeiro (UFRJ), Vienna and Jena.

Aims and Scope

Questions related to dimension theory appear frequently in the study of skew product systems. Examples are the famous Weierstraß functions, which can be viewed as repellers of chaotically driven affine maps, strange nonchaotic attractors which appear in skew products over irrational rotations, coupled Baker's maps, which are interesting in the light of the Kaplan-Yorke conjecture or certain skew products over horseshoes, which appear as models of homoclinic classes and heterodimensional cycles in smooth ergodic theory. So far, all these examples have been studied more or less independently, and no systematic studies have been carried out to develop thermodynamic formalism or tools for the multifractal analysis of skew product systems.
The aim of the scientific network is to bring together experts from both sides - skew product dynamics and multifractal analysis/thermodynamic formalism - over a period of three years to work in the interface between the two fields.


Four annual workshops, focusing on different aspects of the topic, will be carried out in the years 2012-2015.


  • Vasso Anagnostopoulou (Imperial College, Great Britain)
  • Henk Bruin (Universität Wien, Austria)
  • Lorenzo Díaz (Pontifícia Universidade Católica do Rio de Janeiro, Brazil)
  • Fredrik Ekström (University of Lund, Sweden)
  • Gabriel Fuhrmann (Universität Jena, Germany)
  • Katrin Gelfert (Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro, Brazil)
  • Maik Gröger (Universität Bremen, Germany)
  • Roman Hric (Univerzita Mateja Bela, Slovakia)
  • Johannes Jaerisch (Shimane University, Japan)
  • Tobias Jäger (Universität Jena, Germany)
  • Kurt Falk (Universität Bremen, Germany)
  • Gerhard Keller (Universität Erlangen, Germany)
  • Marc Keßeböhmer (Universität Bremen, Germany)
  • Arne Mosbach (Universität Bremen, Germany)
  • Christian Oertel (Universität Jena, Germany)
  • Atsuya Otani (Universität Erlangen, Germany)
  • Anthony Samuel (California Polytechnic State University, USA)
  • Malte Steffens (Universität Bremen, Germany)
  • Bernd Stratmann (Universität Bremen, Germany)
  • Roland Zweimüller (Universität Wien, Austria)